TUBERIE DE NIMY 🇧🇪​

The activity of this industrial site was metallurgical and included steelworks plus rolling facilities, as well as workshops for galvanizing, pickling of sheet metal, machine tools and others . The site started around 1905 with a first building located in the North East (now destroyed). The part of the site whose ruins are still visible today is the old rolling and pickling hall, which was built in 1955, on the south-east side. The site has indeed undergone various mutations and several buyers through the years.

Tubel SA took over the infrastructure in 1983, continuing the rolling / pickling activities, and focusing on the manufacture of steel tubes. This part of the site was abandoned in 1998 following the relocation of the company. Since then, the current owner has used it as a dumping ground for various waste and fill.

Today, there is not much to see from the past activity of the site, apart from a large, long, empty hall. The place remains pleasant to see and to photograph, there are also a lot of tags on the walls. A permit application has recently been submitted for the construction of a photovoltaic power plant with 26,100 solar panels producing 6.6 MWh on the site. It will soon be almost 30 years since the place – well known in Urbex – is abandoned.

ℹ️ Current state: abandoned

General condition
Interest
Danger
Accessibility

© Photos by Urbex Vision
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

TUBERIE DE NIMY 🇧🇪​

L’activité de ce site industriel était métallurgique, elle consistait au travail à froid et à chaud des métaux et comprenait des installations d’aciérie, de laminage ainsi que des ateliers de galvanisation, de décapage de la tôle, de machines à outils et autres. L’origine du site remonte à environ 1905 avec un premier bâtiment situé au Nord-Est (aujourd’hui détruit). La partie du site dont les ruines sont toujours visibles aujourd’hui est l’ancien hall de laminage et de décapage, qui lui a été construit en 1955, côté Sud-Est. Le site a en effet connu diverses mutations et plusieurs repreneurs au fil des années.

C’est la société Tubel SA qui reprend possession des infrastructures en 1983, poursuivant les activités de laminage/décapage, et se concentrant sur la fabrication de tubes en acier. Cette partie du site est abandonnée en 1998 suite au déménagement de l’entreprise. Depuis, le propriétaire actuel l’utilise comme lieu de déversement de déchets et remblais divers.

De l’activité passée du site, il ne reste au final pas grand chose à voir, à part un grand hangar long et vide. Le lieu reste toutefois agréable à voir et à photographier, on y retrouve aussi pas mal de tags sur les murs. Une demande de permis a récemment été introduite pour la construction d’une centrale photovoltaïque de 26.100 panneaux solaires produisant 6,6 MWh sur l’emplacement du site. Cela fera bientôt près de 30 ans que le lieu – bien connu de l’urbex – est laissé à l’abandon.

ℹ️  Etat actuel: abandon

Etat général
Intérêt
Danger
Accessibilité

© Photos by Urbex Vision
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur tumblr
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur pocket

Laisser un commentaire

fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais