P.R.B. 🇧🇪

Former powder and dynamite factory built in 1879 somewhere in Belgium. This site is where powder and explosives were made, in particular for a use in the mines. The site was sold and demilitarized in 1990 after the bankruptcy of its company.

Spread over about ten hectares secretly hidden in the forest, the « factory » is subdivided into approximately fifty buildings isolated from each other. The reason of this isolation? Simply to avoid chain explosions in case of accident.

Among all these buildings, there are workshops, laboratories and testing rooms, as well as administration and machinery buildings, and also warehouses. The site is also provided with a central heating network distributed towards all the buildings through above-ground insulated conducts.

Discovering the site is comparable to a long and pleasant stroll in the forest, but we have to admit that most of the instruments and working accessories are gone and many buildings are now empty, except for a boat and agricultural machines in a warehouse.


Besides, the site is polluted and many nitrophilous plants took a malicious pleasure in regaining control of the place, even growing inside the houses.

ℹ️ Current state: abandoned

General condition
Interest
Danger
Accessibility
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

P.R.B. 🇧🇪

Ancienne poudrerie et dynamiterie belge construite en 1879. À ne pas confondre avec la poudrière (soit le « magasin à poudre »), ce site était une usine de fabrication de poudre et explosifs, destinés notamment à un usage dans les mines. Le site fut revendu et démilitarisé en 1990 suite à la faillite de la société.

Étalée sur une bonne dizaine d’hectares enfouis secrètement dans la forêt, « l’usine » se subdivise en (approximativement) une cinquantaine de bâtiments isolés les uns des autres. La raison de cet isolement? Simplement pour éviter des explosions en chaîne en cas d’accident de travail.

Parmi tous ces bâtiments, on retrouve des ateliers, laboratoires et salles de test, ou encore des bâtiments administratifs, de machinerie et des entrepôts. Le site est également muni d’un réseau de chauffage central redistribué vers tous les bâtiments via des conduites aériennes à parois isolantes.

Si la visite du site constitue une longue et agréable balade en forêt, force est de constater qu’il reste peu d’instruments et accessoires de travail dans les bâtiments, à l’exception d’un bateau et de machines agricoles dans un hangar.

Le site étant par ailleurs pollué par des ingrédients (comme le nitrate) qui servaient à la fabrication de la poudre, les plantes nitrophiles ont depuis lors pris un malin plaisir à se ré-approprier les lieux, allant jusqu’à pousser à l’intérieur des maisons.

ℹ️  Etat actuel: abandon

Etat général
Intérêt
Danger
Accessibilité
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur tumblr
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur pocket

Laisser un commentaire

fr_FRFrançais