PREVENTORIUM D 🇧🇪

This establishment with particular architecture was built in 1953. While the sanatoriums guaranteed isolation and medical treatment to victims of tuberculosis, the preventorium took care of infected patients that did not present the active form of this disease yet.

This preventorium has gathered approximately 150 pre-tubercular children until 1980, date of the abandonment of the building. Today, nothing remains except empty rooms and corridors. Only a former fire truck in front of the entrance seems to stand guard.

In 36 years of abandonment, several renovation projects were presented but without result. Considered as luxury apartments then lofts, it is today considered as a center for disabled people. Case to follow…

ℹ️ Current state: abandoned

General condition
Interest
Danger
Accessibility

© Photos by Urbex Vision
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

PREVENTORIUM D 🇧🇪

Cet établissement à l’architecture unique fut construit en 1953. Si les sanatoriums étaient des institutions permettant d’isoler et d’assurer le traitement médical des victimes de la tuberculose, le préventorium s’occupait quant à lui des patients infectés mais ne présentant pas encore la forme active de cette maladie.

Ce préventorium-ci a accueilli environ 150 enfants pré-tuberculeux jusqu’en 1980, date de la fermeture et de l’abandon du bâtiment. Aujourd’hui, il n’en reste absolument rien à part des couloirs et pièces vides. Seul un ancien camion de pompier semble dresser la garde devant l’entrée.

En 36 ans d’abandon, plusieurs projets de rénovation se sont succédés mais sans aboutir. Envisagé comme appartements de luxe puis lofts, on parle aujourd’hui d’en faire un centre pour personnes handicapées. Affaire à suivre…

ℹ️  Etat actuel: abandon

Etat général
Intérêt
Danger
Accessibilité

© Photos by Urbex Vision
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur tumblr
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur pocket

Laisser un commentaire

fr_FRFrançais