BLUE POWER PLANT 🇧🇪

This coke-gas powered power plant is undoubtedly one of the most beautiful power stations I have seen so far. Power plants often stand out from other factories by their complex architecture, pipes and large turbine halls, often very aesthetic to fans of industrial architecture like me. Here, although it is not particularly bulky, this plant offers a lot of photogenic elements thanks to its vintage aspect, its good condition. It is also colorful with lights and colors, both in the “boiler room” and in the turbine room.

This plant is located on the same site as another imposing abandoned factory, which are both from a time when coal and steel were still a major asset in the Belgian economy. The site has inevitably undergone many changes over time, and this is noticeable in the turbine room, where several turbines from different time periods are exhibited, like in a museum. Their power ranged from 6.5 MW to 75 MW. The most recent turbine, also the largest (a blue Escher Wyss), gives its name (or at least its color) to the plant, which is nicknamed the "Blue Power Plant". It could just as well have been named "Yellow" after the magnificent yellow pipes in the boiler room. The control room, still intact, is hidden in the dark following a small access from the corner of the large hall, not ideal to highlight it well.

Magnificent exploration, which ended with a security escort to the gates of the site (the place is known to be very guarded). On the one hand, if the place is so well preserved today, it is in large part thanks to the security guys who watch over the site. I hope that this place will be preserved and not demolished in the future. We will see…

ℹ️ Current state: Abandoned, under surveillance

General condition
Interest
Danger
Accessibility
🚷 Security
© Photos by Urbex Vision
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

BLUE POWER PLANT 🇧🇪

Cette centrale électrique au gaz de coke est assurément l’une des plus belles centrales que j’ai été amené à voir jusqu’à présent. Déjà, les centrales électriques se distinguent souvent des autres usines par leur architecture complexe de tuyaux et leurs grands halls de turbines, souvent très esthétiques pour des fans d’architecture industrielle comme moi. Ici, bien que pas spécialement volumineuse, cette centrale regorge d’éléments photogéniques grâce à son côté vintage, encore en très bon état et ses nombreux jeux de couleurs et de lumières, tant dans la ‘boiler room’ que dans la salle des turbines.

Cette centrale est située sur le même site qu’une autre imposante usine à l’abandon, issus d’une époque où charbon et sidérurgie étaient encore un atout majeur de l’économie belge. Le site a forcément connu de nombreuses mutations avec le temps, et cela se remarque dans la salle des turbines, là où plusieurs séries de turbines de périodes diverses sont exposées, comme dans un musée. Leur puissance variait de 6,5 MW à 75 MW. La turbine la plus récente, aussi la plus imposante, une Escher Wyss bleue, donne son nom (ou du moins sa couleur) à la centrale, que l’on surnomme la « Blue Power Plant ». On aurait tout aussi bien pu la nommer « Yellow » d’après les tuyau jaunes magnifiques présents dans la partie chaufferie. La salle de contrôle, encore intacte, est elle dissimulée dans le noir suivant un petit accès au bord de la grande salle, pas de quoi la mettre bien en valeur.

Magnifique exploration, qui s’est clôturée par un raccompagnement aux portes du site par la sécurité, réputée très présente sur le site. D’un côté, si le lieu est aujourd’hui à ce point conservé, c’est en grande partie grâce aux gardiens qui veillent sur le site, et j’ose espérer que ce lieu sera conservé et non démoli dans le futur. Nous verrons…

ℹ️  Etat actuel: désaffecté, sous surveillance

Etat général
Intérêt
Danger
Accessibilité
🚷 Security
© Photos by Urbex Vision
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur tumblr
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur pocket

Laisser un commentaire

fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais