LAMINOIR TRAIN-380 🇧🇪


Also nicknamed « Shelt Factory », this former strip mill was part of the Usines Métallurgiques de Hainaut-Sambre. The first thing we can say about this building is that it’s really huge! Indeed, the factory looks like an enormous warehouse of about 630 meters long (for around 30 meters wide). Sun beams infiltrate through the roof of this construction located along the railroad. Here, the steel was refined in « billets » of steel ready for exportation.

Built in the haste and the euphoria at the end of the 60s, during a post-war period where the growth of the caroloregian steel industry continued to climb, this construction of this site arrived almost at the same time as the recession which was going to mark the last moments of glory of this industry. Besides, the products of this strip mill were already exploited by other companies of the region, so the site did not last long enough to step in front of the competition and eventually closed at the end of the 70s.

The place is today abandoned, and there is no remain of the machinery except for two rusty overhead cranes still suspended at the ceiling and a third one lying on the ground. This emptiness strengthens the sensation of size when we penetrate there. Next to the warehouse, there are still some annexes among which the changing rooms, a machinery room and a gasometer. Unmistakably, this place remembers us the wealth in the region of Charleroi during its era of glory…

ℹ️ Current state: abandoned

General condition
Interest
Danger
Accessibility

© Photos by Urbex Vision

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

en_USEnglish

LAMINOIR TRAIN-380 🇧🇪


Également surnommé « Usine Shelt », cet ancien laminoir des Usines Métallurgiques de Hainaut-Sambre impressionne tout d’abord par sa taille. Le bâtiment se présente en effet sous la forme d’un énorme hangar d’environ 630 mètres de long (pour une trentaine de mètres de large) transpercé par les rayons du soleil. Situé le long de la voie ferrée, cette usine permettait d’affiner l’acier pour en faire des billettes (sortes de poutrelles d’acier de petit et moyen calibres) prêtes à être exportées.

Construit dans l’empressement et l’euphorie à la fin des années 60, pendant une période où la croissance de la sidérurgie carolorégienne de l’après-guerre continuait à grimper, ce site tomba presque nez-à-nez avec la récession qui allait marquer les derniers moments de gloire de cette industrie. Les produits de ce laminoir étant par ailleurs déjà exploités par d’autres entreprises de la région, le site ne fit pas long feu face à la concurrence et ferma à la fin des années 70.

Le lieu étant aujourd’hui à l’abandon, plus une seule machinerie ne s’y trouve à part les restes rouillés de deux ponts roulants encore suspendus au plafond (et un troisième au sol), ce qui renforce la sensation de grandeur lorsqu’on y pénètre. On retrouve à côté quelques bâtiments annexes (vestiaires, salles des machines, gazomètre…). Un lieu dont la taille nous évoque indéniablement la richesse de l’ère de l’industrie sidérurgique du bassin de Charleroi…

ℹ️  Etat actuel: abandonné

Etat général
Intérêt
Danger
Accessibilité

© Photos by Urbex Vision
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur tumblr
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur pocket

Laisser un commentaire

fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais