BLACK COKES 🇧🇪

This former coking plant is part of one of major industrial site in Belgium, located in an area where coal and steel once were the wealth of its region. This coking plant is only a small part of that site, which had also a blast furnace, a steelworks, a rolling mill, a power station, etc.

The site is gigantic and imposes by its complex structure. the coking plant itself was put into service in 1952 by the Forges de la Providence, before going under the ownership of other steel groups. It fed the nearby blast furnace with coke, which it produced by placing coal in batteries of ovens heated to over 1000 degrees away from oxygen.

Like many other steel sites, the plant has undergone countless changes over the years to adapt to the industrial boom and the modernization of manufacturing tools. This is how it started with 2 batteries and ended up with 4 batteries for a total of 122 ovens, following major refurbishments in 1981 and 1990.

Unfortunately, the high level of pollution was no more in compliance with environmental rules. Following numerous complaints, the management simply decided to put an end to the activity of the coking plant rather than to rebuild or re-adapt it to the standards of the day. The factory closed in January 2008, eliminating nearly 250 jobs. Even though many workers are reassigned to other facilities in the same group, the coking plant has certainly been an important milestone in their lives and careers.

Today, the site is kind of abandoned, though severly guarded. Its demolition and de-pollution process are progressing slowly. Many conveyors have already been removed as well as other installations, gasometers etc. The heart of the coking plant with its coal tower and its 4 batteries is however still in place, as are the ancillary facilities such as coal yards, the grinding tower, a laboratory or even the by-product factories including facilities of carbochemical treatment… The wear and the rise of the vegetation are clearly visible, but the buildings keep their appearance of former days.

Exciting visit to this industrial maze which, since my childhood, aroused my interest and my curiosity…

ℹ️ Current state: abandoned

General condition
Interest
Danger
Accessibility

© Photos by Urbex Vision
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

BLACK COKES 🇧🇪

Cette ancienne cokerie figure parmi l’un des sites sidérurgiques les plus importants de Belgique, situé dans une zone où charbon et acier constituaient jadis la richesse de la région. Cette cokerie n’était qu’un maillon de tout un zoning sidérurgique constitué des constituants habituels tels que un haut-fourneau, une aciérie, un laminoir, une centrale…

Le site est gigantesque et impose par sa structure complexe. la cokerie en elle-même a été mise en service en 1952 par les Forges de la Providence, avant de passer sous la propriété d’autres groupes sidérurgiques. Elle alimentait le haut fourneau voisin en coke, qu’elle produisait par enfournement de la houille dans des batteries de fours chauffés à plus de 1000 degrés à l’abri de l’oxygène.

Comme beaucoup d’autres sites sidérurgique, l’usine a connu au fil des années d’innombrables mutations pour s’adapter à l’essor industriel et à la modernisation des outils de fabrication. C’est ainsi qu’elle a démarré avec 2 batteries pour se retrouver au final avec 4 batteries et un total de 122 fours, suite à des ré-aménagements en 1981 et 1990.

Malheureusement, le site pollue énormément et n’est pas plus conforme aux règles environnementales. Suite à de nombreuses plaintes, la direction décide de mettre un terme à l’activité de la cokerie plutôt que de reconstruire ou la ré-adapter aux normes du jour. L’usine ferme en janvier 2008, faisant disparaitre près de 250 emplois. Même si beaucoup de travailleurs sont réaffectés dans d’autres installations du même groupe, la cokerie aura représenté pour beaucoup une étape importante.

Désaffecté aujourd’hui, le site n’est pas pour autant abandonné. Activement surveillé et sécurisé, sa démolition et son assainissement se préparent et s’exécutent à petits pas. Beaucoup de convoyeurs ont déjà été retirés ainsi que d’autres installations, gazomètres etc. Le coeur de la cokerie avec sa tour à charbon et ses 4 batteries est cependant toujours en place, de même que les installations annexes telles que parcs à charbon, la tour de broyage, un laboratoire ou encore (si mes données son correctes) un atelier de sous-produits comprenant des installations de traitement carbochimique… L’usure et la montée de la végétation sont bien visibles, mais les bâtiments gardent toutefois leur allure d’antan.

Visite passionnante de ce dédale industriel qui, depuis mon enfance, suscitait mon admiration et ma curiosité…

ℹ️  Etat actuel: désaffecté

Etat général
Intérêt personnel
Danger
Accessibilité

© Photos by Urbex Vision
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur tumblr
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur pocket

Laisser un commentaire

fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais