CHATEAU ROUGE 🇧🇪

Isolated and located on the edge of the forest, the Château Rouge is a popular spot for urban explorers. It is so well known that it has several nicknames, leaving each passing visitor the embarrassment to choose the one he or she prefers: Château Bambi, Château Danny Rolling, Château Les Chambres or Hôtel Torrance are just a few examples, beyond the classic “Château Rouge”. Personally, I prefer this last nickname because it is above all the color of the facade, a dazzling red, that strikes us in the eyes and makes this building unique to photograph. Though, I hesitated for a long time to go there, knowing that the place was very visited, suspecting that there would not be much left to see inside. Fortunately, I got there just in time, as the entrances have since been walled off, not too long ago (around August 2020).

On the spot, reality confirms my fears. The interior of the building is devastated, it is even dangerous in some parts, on the upper floors. However, one cannot help but admire the structure of the main entrance with the grand staircase. Originally this chateau had 12 bedrooms, 5 bathrooms and 2,400 square meters of living space. Built in a Renaissance style in 1889, it is apparently a replacement for another castle, which would have caught fire in the mid-1800s. It has apparently served several functions, although these are not from reliable sources: conference space, rest home, children's home, luxury hotel ... The multiplication of functions is explained by the fact that the property has passed into the hands of several owners. The latter could not continue to maintain the premises.

The Château Rouge has been abandoned since 2006. Airsoft players have since made it their playground. I just ran into one of them on my way to the castle. I kindly asked him if he didn't mind if I took some pictures on the site. He told me there was no problem as long as it wasn’t there to degrade the place. Because yes, there has been some degradation in the course of the last years. The accesses have recently been walled up, a sign that things are moving. A possible renovation? The future will tell ... I took the opportunity to take my pictures calmly, as night was already gradually falling. I find that the dark side brought a more dramatic side to the photos, of which I also accentuated the contrast and brought out the colors, to mark the reds and blues. It was a good idea going there.

ℹ️ Current state: abandoned

General condition
Interest
Danger
Accessibility
Accesses recently walled up
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on tumblr
Share on pinterest
Share on pocket

Leave a Reply

en_USEnglish

CHATEAU ROUGE 🇧🇪

Isolé en bordure de forêt, le Château Rouge est un endroit très prisé des explorateurs urbains. Il est tellement connu qu’il a d’ailleurs plusieurs surnoms, laissant à chaque visiteur de passage l’embarras de choisir celui qu’il préfère: Château Bambi, Château Danny Rolling, Château Les Chambres ou encore Hôtel Torrance en sont quelques exemples, au delà du classique « Château Rouge ». Personnellement, je préfère ce dernier car c’est avant tout la couleur de la façade, d’un rouge éclatant, qui nous frappe aux yeux et rend cette bâtisse unique à photographier. J’ai longtemps hésité à m’y rendre, sachant que le lieu était très visité, me doutant bien qu’il ne resterait plus grand chose à voir à l’intérieur. Je m’y suis heureusement rendu juste à temps, car les accès ont depuis été murés, il y a peu de temps de ça (vers août 2020).

Sur place, la réalité confirme mes craintes. L’intérieur du bâtiment est dévasté, c’est même dangereux par endroits, aux étages. Toutefois, on ne peut s’empêcher d’admirer la structure de l’entrée principale avec le grand escalier. A l’origine, ce château comptait 12 chambres, 5 salles de bain et 2.400 mètres carrés d’espace habitable. Construit dans un style renaissance en 1889, il serait le remplaçant d’un autre château, qui lui aurait pris feu au milieu des années 1800. Il aurait servi plusieurs fonctions, bien que celles-ci ne sont pas de sources fiables: le château aurait servi d’espace de conférence, maison de repos, maison d’accueil pour enfants, hôtel de luxe… La multiplication des fonctions s’explique par le fait que le bien est passé entre les mains de plusieurs propriétaires. Le dernier n’a pas pu continuer à entretenir les lieux.

Le château Rouge est à l’abandon depuis 2006. Des airsofteurs en ont fait leur terrain de jeu depuis. Je croisais justement l’un d’eux en me rendant au château. Je lui ai demandé aimablement si cela ne le dérangeait pas que je prenne quelques photos sur le site, ce sur quoi il m’a dit qu’il n’y avait pas de problème tant que ce n’était pas pour dégrader. Car de la dégradation, il y en a eu. Les accès ont récemment été murés, signe que les choses bougent. Une possible rénovation? L’avenir nous le dira… J’en profitais alors pour prendre mes photos calmement, alors que la nuit tombait déjà, progressivement. Je trouve que le côté sombre a apporté un côté plus dramatique aux photos, dont j’ai d’ailleurs accentué le contraste et fait ressortir les couleurs, pour marquer le rouge et le bleu. J’ai bien fait de passer par là.

ℹ️  Etat actuel: abandon

Etat général
Intérêt
Danger
Accessibilité
Accès murés depuis 2020
Partager sur facebook
Partager sur twitter
Partager sur linkedin
Partager sur tumblr
Partager sur pinterest
Partager sur pocket

Laisser un commentaire

fr_FRFrançais
en_USEnglish fr_FRFrançais